Advantage Members Chris Marks, Sharon May and James Beagrie Elected

Following a recent board election, The Advantage Travel Partnership has re-appointed two of its current non-executive member directors

James Beagrie, owner of Meon Valley Travel will re-join Advantage Travel Partnership’s board this May 2021.

Following a recent board election, The Advantage Travel Partnership has re-appointed two of its current non-executive member directors, Sharon May, Worldwide Travel Solutions and Christopher Marks, Baldwins Travel Agency.

James has previously served on Advantage’s board from 2013 to 2018 and having purchased Meon Valley Travel in 2002 (which was founded in 1964) he understands the need for integrity, good judgement and commitment required to running both leisure and business travel businesses. As the former managing director of AON UK Plc and founder/non-executive director of the Association of Travel Insurance Intermediaries, James brings with him a wealth of insurance and travel industry knowledge across both the public and private sector.

He commented: “As travel sets to recover from this overwhelming pandemic, we expect a more challenging landscape and Advantage members will need knowledgeable support to face this head-on. In this current climate, I look forward to making a distinct contribution and helping members navigate through this period while supporting Julia and the wider team to achieve the business’ strategic goals.”

Chris Marks and Sharon May were both up for re-election and have held their place in office. Chris and James were elected in the business travel category, while Sharon was elected in the leisure travel category.

Chris Marks commented: “I am honoured to be re-elected to the board and thank the membership for their vote of confidence in me. The collective board is very strong and well represented with an excellent cross section of member types and business leaders. I look forward to helping support the executive team in their drive to survive and thrive for Advantage and all our members through this incredibly challenging period.”

Sharon May said: “I am delighted to be re-elected to the Advantage’s board of directors. I am very much looking forward to supporting Julia and her executive team in shaping the future of Advantage.”

Steven Esom, Advantage’s chairman added: “Advantage Travel Partnership is an organisation run with our members’ needs at the heart of everything we do. At board level, our non-executive directors play a crucial role, in working with the executive team in helping to shape the strategic future of Advantage. We are delighted that Sharon and Chris have been re-appointed and to welcome back James to the board alongside our other non-executive directors, Jeanne Lally (Travel Bureau), Joanne Dooey (Love to Travel), Sharon May (Worldwide Travel Solutions), Suzanne Horner (Gray Dawes Group) and Paul Hardwick (Fred. Olsen Travel).”

James’s tenure will officially begin on 05 May 2021, the date of the company’s AGM Meeting.