Scotland Lifts Quarantine Restrictions for 39 Countries

Scotland's quarantine restrictions have been removed for dozens of countries, the second country in the four nations to do so - Wales and Northern Ireland are still to make announcements

Scotland’s First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, has confirmed that air bridges will be created between 39 countries and territories classified as ‘green’ or low risk by the UK Government.

This means that Scottish residents returning from these countries will not be required to quarantine for 14 days.

Now both England and Scotland have announced air bridges, it is hopeful that Northern Ireland will follow suit and make an announcement shortly.

Some of the countries approved for air bridges with Scotland are France, Greece, the Netherlands, Italy and Poland.

However, Spain has not been included in the list of approved air bridge countries, with Ms Sturgeon saying she “cannot in good conscience lift restrictions on people arriving from Spain.”

A further review will be conducted on the July 20.

Ms Sturgeon added: “This has been a very difficult decision. It is evidence driven and it is motivated only by a determination to protect Scotland as far as possible.”

“I know and am acutely aware of how important international travel is for our tourist sector and the aviation industry.”

The list of overseas destinations where the self-isolation requirements for those arriving in Scotland will be lifted on Friday (July 10) are:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Réunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts & Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam

The fourteen UK overseas territories also on the list of exemptions are:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • South Georgia
  • South Sandwich Islands
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Ireland is already exempt as part of the Common Travel Area, as are the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.