Northern Ireland Relaxes Travel Quarantine Rules AND List of Green Lighted Countries Published!

The NI Executive has announced that it will relax quarantine rules for more than 50 countries - full list below!

According the a live report from BBC NI, the NI Executive has today (July 9) announced that it will be easing quarantine rules for more than 50 countries, including France, Spain, Germany and Italy saying the there will be “no self-isolation requirement for those travelling to Northern Ireland from low to medium risk countries” – but it did not say when the new rules would come into force.

The executive agreed the changes after a review of the travel regulations.

The current regulations state that anyone entering Northern Ireland from outside the Common Travel Area must isolate for 14 days, but the new announcement brings Northern Ireland into line with England and Scotland, who have both already announced travel corridors.

Peter McMinn, Travel Solutions said: “This decision by the NI Executive will be widely welcomed, not only by our travel agency partners, but by the vast amount of passengers looking to grab a holiday this summer. Not only does it give the local travel industry an income for the first time in four months; but may also help secure hundreds of jobs in retail stores, tour operators and those employed at airports. This gives the industry a chance.”

Sandra Corkin from Oasis Travel said: It is really great news for the industry and hopefully we can look forward to some summer 2020 bookings.”

Arrivals are exempt from quarantine if they arrive in from:

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam.

The 14 British Overseas Territories are also exempt.